West Virginia Protective Orders

Code Section
48-27-101, et seq.

Activity Addressed by Order
Enjoin contact; exclude from dwelling, employment; counseling; regarding minors: temporary custody, visitations, support; prohibition from possession of a firearm; reimburse for reasonable expenses

Duration
Final protective order: 90-180 days; may be extended

Penalty for a Violation of Order
Misdemeanor: jail minimum 1 day and maximum 1 year and fine, minimum $250 and maximum $2,000

Who May Apply for Order
Person or adult family or household member on behalf of minor or incapacitated

Fees Waived
Yes

Transmission to Law Enforcement
Copy within 24 hours to any law enforcement agency having jurisdiction including city police, county sheriff’s office or local office of the West Virginia State Police

Civil Liability
Yes, civil contempt


Inside West Virginia Protective Orders