Utah Protective Orders

Code Section
30-6-1, et seq.; 76-5-108

Activity Addressed by Order
Enjoin contact; exclude from dwelling, school or employment; regarding minors: temporary custody, visitations; prohibit from purchasing, using, or possessing a firearm

Duration
Ex parte: Maximum 20 days unless modified. Civil provisions: 150 days

Penalty for a Violation of Order
Class A misdemeanor

Who May Apply for Order
Any cohabitant or child residing with a cohabitant, or a cohabitant, department, or person or institution may apply for a minor

Fees Waived
Yes

Transmission to Law Enforcement
Copy by end of next business day to local law enforcement agencies designated by petitioner and copy to statewide domestic violations network

Civil Liability
Yes, contempt of court


Inside Utah Protective Orders