South Dakota Protective Orders

Code Section
25-10-1, et seq.

Activity Addressed by Order
Enjoin contact; exclude from dwelling; regarding minors: temporary custody, visitations, support, counseling

Duration
Protective order: maximum 3 years. Temporary: 30 days

Penalty for a Violation of Order
If knows of order: Class 1 misdemeanor. If assault occurs: Class 6 felony

Who May Apply for Order
Any family or household member

Fees Waived
Yes, if affidavit filed

Transmission to Law Enforcement
Copy to local law enforcement agency having jurisdiction over area where petitioner resides within 24 hours

Civil Liability
Yes, contempt of court


Inside South Dakota Protective Orders