South Carolina Protective Orders

Code Section
20-4-10, et seq.

Activity Addressed by Order
Enjoin contact; exclude from dwelling, employment or school; regarding minors: temporary custody, visitations, support; court costs and attorney fees

Duration
Minimum 6 months, maximum 1 year, may be extended. Regarding minor protective order: maximum 60 days or until divorce or support or maintenance hearing

Penalty for a Violation of Order
If 1st offense: jail 30 days or fine maximum $200. If contempt of court: jail maximum 1 year and/or fine maximum $1,500

Who May Apply for Order
Any household member on behalf of self or minor household members

Fees Waived
Yes

Transmission to Law Enforcement
Copy to local law enforcement agencies with jurisdiction over area where petitioner resides

Civil Liability
Yes, contempt of court


Inside South Carolina Protective Orders