Rhode Island Protective Orders

Code Section
15-15-1, et seq., 12-29-5

Activity Addressed by Order
Enjoin contact; exclude from dwelling; regarding minors: temporary custody, support

Duration
Support payments: maximum 90 days. General: maximum 3 years, may be extended. Temporary: maximum 21 days, maybe extended

Penalty for a Violation of Order
Contempt of court. If defendant has actual notice of protective order: misdemeanor: jail maximum 1 year and/or fine maximum $1,000 and counseling

Who May Apply for Order
Any victim of domestic abuse

Fees Waived
Yes

Transmission to Law Enforcement
Copy forwarded immediately to law enforcement agency designated by petitioner

Civil Liability
Yes, contempt of court


Inside Rhode Island Protective Orders