New Mexico Protective Orders

Code Section
40-13-2, et seq., 31-19-1

Activity Addressed by Order
Enjoin contact; exclude from dwelling; regarding minors: visitation, support

Duration
Emergency: 72 hrs.; maximum: 6 months, may be extended for 6 months

Penalty for a Violation of Order
Misdemeanor: jail maximum 1 year and/or fine maximum $1,000. If 2nd or subsequent: jail minimum 72 consecutive hours

Who May Apply for Order
Any victim of domestic abuse

Fees Waived
Yes

Transmission to Law Enforcement
Copy to local law enforcement agency

Civil Liability
Yes, contempt of court


Inside New Mexico Protective Orders