Nevada Protective Orders

Code Section
33.017, et seq.

Activity Addressed by Order
Enjoin contact; exclude from dwelling, school, or employment; regarding minors: temporary custody, visitations

Duration
Temporary order: maximum 30 days or until hearing. Extended order: 1 year

Penalty for a Violation of Order
Misdemeanor or maximum penalty prescribed by law. If violation by violent physical act: fine $1,000 or community service 200 hours; jail, minimum 5 days, maximum 6 months; attorney and medical costs; counseling

Who May Apply for Order
Spouse, former spouse, blood or marital relative, parent of one’s child, dating relation, minor

Fees Waived
Court assesses against respondent at final disposition and can reduce or waive them

Transmission to Law Enforcement
Copy by end of next business day to appropriate law enforcement agency with jurisdiction over residence, school, child care facility, or place of employment

Civil Liability
Yes, contempt of court


Inside Nevada Protective Orders