Mississippi Protective Orders

Code Section
93-21-1, et seq.

Activity Addressed by Order
Enjoin contact; exclude from dwelling; regarding minors: temporary custody, visitations, support; restitution for monetary losses suffered as a result of abuse.

Duration
Temporary: maximum 10 days, can be extended another 20 days. General: maximum 3 years, may be extended

Penalty for a Violation of Order
Contempt of court: maximum 6 months jail and/or fine, maximum $1,000

Who May Apply for Order
Any parent, adult household member, or next friend on behalf of minors or incompetent

Fees Waived
Yes, if court finds that abuse has been committed, abuser may be assessed fines.

Transmission to Law Enforcement
N/A

Civil Liability
Yes, contempt of court


Inside Mississippi Protective Orders