Michigan Protective Orders

Code Section
600.2950 personal protection order & 2950a

Activity Addressed by Order
Enjoin contact; exclude from premise, work; regarding minors: exclude from minor children, enjoin possession of firearms; deny access to information

Duration
Minimum 182 days unless modified

Penalty for a Violation of Order
Civil or criminal contempt: jail, maximum 93 days and fined maximum $500

Who May Apply for Order
Household member, spouse/ex-spouse, parent of one’s child, dating relationship.

Fees Waived
N/A

Transmission to Law Enforcement
Copy entered into law enforcement information network by law enforcement agency designated by court in order

Civil Liability
Yes, for false statements made in court


Inside Michigan Protective Orders