Massachusetts Protective Orders

Code Section
209A §1, et seq.; 208 §34C

Activity Addressed by Order
Enjoin contact; exclude from dwelling (maximum 1 year, may be extended); regarding minors: temporary custody, support; suspend firearms license, monetary compensation, court may recommend batterer’s treatment program; alcohol limitations

Duration
Maximum 1 year, may be extended

Penalty for a Violation of Order
Fine: maximum $5,000 and/or jail, maximum 2.5 years and order appropriate treatment

Who May Apply for Order
A person suffering from abuse from an adult or minor family or household member.

Fees Waived
Yes

Transmission to Law Enforcement
Copy to appropriate law enforcement agency

Civil Liability
Yes, civil contempt


Inside Massachusetts Protective Orders