Louisiana Protective Orders

Code Section
46:2131 to 2142

Activity Addressed by Order
Enjoin contact; exclude from dwelling, school, work; regarding minors: temporary custody, counseling; awarding use of property

Duration
Maximum 6 months, may be extended

Penalty for a Violation of Order
Contempt of court: imprisonment maximum 6 months and/or fine, maximum $500

Who May Apply for Order
Any parent; adult household member, parent or district attorney on behalf of minor or incompetent

Fees Waived
Paid by perpetrator

Transmission to Law Enforcement
Copy of Uniform Abuse Protection Order to chief law enforcement official of parish where protected persons reside, by end of next business day after filing; Louisiana Protective Order Registry no later than next business day.

Civil Liability
Contempt of court


Inside Louisiana Protective Orders