Idaho Protective Orders

Code Section
39-6301, et seq.

Activity Addressed by Order
Enjoin contact; exclude from dwelling; regarding minor children: grant temporary custody; pay court cost’s and attorney’s fees; counseling

Duration
Maximum 3 months unless renewed, maximum 1 year. Ex parte temporary protective order: maximum 14 days, can be reissued

Penalty for a Violation of Order
Misdemeanor: maximum 1 year jail and fine, maximum $5,000

Who May Apply for Order
Family or household member, even if person has left dwelling to avoid abuse. Custodial or noncustodial parent or guardian may file for minor.

Fees Waived
Yes, court may order respondent to reimburse petitioner court fees

Transmission to Law Enforcement
On or before next judicial day

Civil Liability
N/A


Inside Idaho Protective Orders