Wyoming

Code Section
14-3-201, et seq.

What Constitutes Abuse
The inflicting or causing of physical or mental injury, harm or imminent danger to the physical or mental health or welfare of a child other than by accidental means including abandonment, excessive/unreasonable corporal punishment, malnutrition, intentional or unintentional neglect or the commission of a sexual offense

Mandatory Reporting Required By
Any person; member/staff of medical (public or private) institution, school, agency, or facility must also notify person in charge

Basis of Report of Abuse/Neglect
Reasonable cause to believe or suspect that a child has been abused or neglected or who observes any child being subjected to conditions or circumstances which would reasonably result in abuse or neglect

To Whom Reported
Child protective agency or local law enforcement agency

Penalty for Failure to Report or False Reporting
Misdemeanor, fine up to $500 and/or up to 6 months in jail for disclosing confidential records of child abuse


Inside Wyoming