Mississippi

Code Section
43-21-353; 43-21-105

What Constitutes Abuse
Sexual abuse or exploitation, emotional abuse, mental injury, nonaccidental physical injury, maltreatment

Mandatory Reporting Required By
Attorney, physician, dentist, nurse, psychologist, social worker, child caregiver, minister, law enforcement officer, school employee, or any other person

Basis of Report of Abuse/Neglect
Reasonable cause to suspect that a child is neglected or abused

To Whom Reported
Department of Human Services

Penalty for Failure to Report or False Reporting
Willful violation: up to $5,000 fine and/or up to 1 year jail


Inside Mississippi