Minnesota

Code Section
626.556

What Constitutes Abuse
Physical or mental injury inflicted on child other than by accidental means or which can’t be reasonably explained; any aversive or deprivation procedures; sexual abuse, neglect-failure to protect a child from conditions which endanger the child’s health; discipline which is not reasonable

Mandatory Reporting Required By
Professional and professional’s delegate in healing arts, social services, hospital administration, psychological treatment, child care, education, law enforcement, clergy (for information received while engaged in ministerial duties), any other person may report

Basis of Report of Abuse/Neglect
Knows or has reason to believe a child is being neglected or physically or sexually abused (or has been in preceding 3 years)

To Whom Reported
Local welfare agency, police department, county sheriff, or agency responsible for investigating the report

Penalty for Failure to Report or False Reporting
Failure to report: misdemeanor; failure by parent, guardian or caretaker: gross misdemeanor if child suffers harm; if a child dies, felony and imprisonment for 2 yrs. and/or $4000 fine; knowing or reckless false report: person civilly liable for actual damages suffered and punitive damages and attorney’s fees


Inside Minnesota